Time Lapse Test

While getting my laptop prepped for my upcoming vacation, I needed to give Lightroom and some additional tools a good work out before I called it good. This is my first attempt at creating a time lapse and I was inspired by Mike Olbinski’s time lapse he posted yesterday.

This is composed of 500 images, taken every 15 seconds.  My camera was set at Aperture Priority, F/16 @ ISO 1000

500 at 15 secs from Colby Perry on Vimeo.

5 comments on “Time Lapse Test”

  1. Nice Colby.

    Gotta try me some of this.

    How did you string it together to make a video? What program?

    I have a project in mind, but I need to spend a bit of time doing it.

    Thanks for sharing.

    pablo

  2. I used two different programs in all. To take the photos, I used DSLR Remote. It allows you to specify the quantity of photos to take in second intervals or take photos between X and Y with how many second intervals.

    To put it together, I used Lightroom 3, with the assistance of this preset: http://lightroom-news.com/2009/10/28/direct-timelapse-video-export-from-lightroom/

    DSLR Remote is a VERY versatile application. Canon cameras do not have a interval setting like Nikon’s do, and this allows you to do that, and write to hard drive versus CF too

  3. I suppose the DSLR remote app requires your laptop connected to the camera?

    Nice job and thanks for the link! One thing that I learned after doing mine is that people talk about “Dragging the shutter” for time lapses, meaning you really want to do exposures around half a second or longer…that way you create blur and it makes the motion better.

    To do that…I guess some ND filters help, increasing your F-Stop, etc.

    • Mike,

      That’s correct, a PC has to be tethered to the camera. You can control the entire camera body from the application including changing modes. Maybe the one time I wish I had a Promote Control or the higher end Canon remote.

      Thanks for the tips. I’m renting an ND & polarizer filter and should arrive tomorrow (Thursday) for my trip.

  4. Yep. Dragging the shutter produces a more fluid effect.

    Last year I worked with Actual Films out of San Francisco where we spent a week shooting scenes of Seattle using 5D MkII, with the 10 stop ND filters to get shutter speeds of 1 or 2 secs.

    It was for a series about Apple’s iPhone app developers.

    I don’t know what program they used to make the video, but it was pretty cool. The longer shutter speeds added to the fluidity of the commercial.


Leave a Reply

